Top performers collect awards

THE TALENT, commitment and achievement of Whitcliffe Mount’s sportsmen and women were celebrated at an awards ceremony for the Cleckheaton school.

More than 250 students and parents attended the school’s annual sports presentation evening at the Cedar Court Hotel, Bradford, where the guest of honour was former Whitcliffe Mount student and ex-Yorkshire and Scotland cricketer Iain Wardlaw.

Students representing 49 school teams and clubs were presented with awards for performer of the year, players’ player and progress.

There were also special awards for outstanding contribution to sport and dance leadership, the winners being Freya Bignell (sports leadership), Jessie Botha, Alexa Tyers, Lilyella Featherstone, Charlotte Wilson and Millie Leadbeater (dance leadership).

Performer of the Year awards went to Alex Midgley and Danielle Miller (Year 7), Miles Craven and Katelyn Muff (Year 8), Tom Oldroyd and Jessie Botha (Year 9), Jackson Smith and Lauren Halloway (Year 10) and Freya Bignell and Bex Rayner (Year 11).

The under 16 girls’ football team was crowned team of the year after emerging winners of the Huddersfield five-a-side tournament, the Spen Valley seven-a-side tournament, Kirklees Schools seven-a-side tournament, the Futsal League, Spen Valley Cup and County league and cup.

They also reached the last 32 in the country in the English Schools Cup.

Lois Toulson, 16, won the outstanding achievement in sport award for the fourth successive year.

Lois is taking the international world of diving by storm.

Following tremendous success at junior level, she has made a successful transition to senior competition.

She has has competed all over the world and, in addition to the solo 10m platform event, has recently been paired with fellow Team GB diver Tonia Couch in the synchro event.

Success in this week's European aquatics championships in London could lead to a place in the Team GB squad for the Olympic Games in Rio.

Other nominees for the outstanding achievement award, who are all competing at an elite level, were Drew Judge-Clark (rugby league), Bex Rayner (football), Frances Whitworth (rugby union), Freya Bignell (netball), Jessie Botha (Irish dance), Keiran Constable (roller hockey), Charlotte Bell (athletics), Niall O’Regan (football), Oliver Priestley-Standing (football) and Leah Burnett (horse riding).

Share this post