Rams reveal numbers at shirt launch

Rams reveal numbers at shirt launch

DEWSBURY RAMS revealed their squad numbers for the 2020 season at their shirt launch event on Wednesday night.

Head coach Lee Greenwood has brought a dozen new signings to the Tetley’s Stadium in the off-season and they were introduced to supporters along with the rest of the 25-man squad.

Four of the new additions have been given starting shirt numbers including centre Matty Fleming, who made the surprise move from London Broncos having played in Super League last season and will wear number four.

Another back with top-flight experience, Will Oakes, has joined on a season-long loan from Hull KR and takes the five jersey.

Centre or second-row Jason Walton has been given the 11 shirt following his move from Featherstone, while versatile forward Chris Annakin owns the 13 shirt after making a permanent move from Wakefield to the club where he has featured on loan in each of the past three seasons.

Elsewhere, prop Connor Scott will have 16 on his back following his move from League One side Doncaster, and former Keighley winger Davey Dixon will wear 18.

The 19 jumper has been handed to forward Sonny Esslemont after making the switch to the Rams from Sheffield while half-back Morgan Punchard, snapped up from Championship rivals Featherstone, will wear 20.

Jon Magrin has been given the number 23 shirt after moving from Bradford while fellow forwards Tommy Brierley and James Thornton will wear 24 and 25 after joining their hometown side.

Finally, young prop Sam Moorhouse has been allocated the number 30 shirt after joining the club from Leeds.

There are also improved numbers for Joe Martin (1), Liam Finn (7), Frazer Morris (8), Dom Speakman (9), Tom Garratt (10), Sam Day (14) and Luke Nelmes (22).

Two of their new additions, however, are yet to begin full pre-season training following operations.

Annakin had groin surgery towards the end of last season but is close to a full return, with an outside chance of featuring in their first friendly on Boxing Day against Batley.

Walton has been out with an ACL injury for the past year and is not expected to be back in full training until January.

Full squad list: 1 Joe Martin, 2 Andy Gabriel, 3 Adam Ryder, 4 Matty Fleming, 5 Will Oakes, 6 Paul Sykes, 7 Liam Finn, 8 Frazer Morris, 9 Dom Speakman, 10 Tom Garratt, 11 Jason Walton, 12 Michael Knowles, 13 Chris Annakin, 14 Sam Day, 15 Liam Johnson, 16 Connor Scott, 17 Martyn Reilly, 18 Davey Dixon, 19 Sonny Esslemont, 20 Morgan Punchard, 22 Luke Nelmes, 23 Jon Magrin, 24 Tommy Brierley, 25 James Thornton, 30 Sam Moorhouse.

Share this post