Newly-promoted Swinton first up for Dewsbury in 2016

Anticipation is already building at the Tetley’s Stadium for the start of the 2016 Championship campaign following the release of next season’s fixtures.

Glenn Morrison’s men will travel to newly-promoted Swinton on the opening day before hosting Workington a week later and travelling to Oldham on February 21 in what looks like a straightforward start for the Rams, on paper at least.

The first derby encounter of 2016 will take place May 25 (Good Friday) at the Tetley’s Stadium, with the return fixture being played out on June 26.

The regular season will see the Championship teams contest 23 games, playing each other home and away, with an additional game taking place at Bloomfield Road in Blackpool at the Summer Bash, where Dewsbury will again face Batley on May 29 in a repeat of last year’s encounter.

And following the unveiling of the 2016 fixture list comes the sale of Dewsbury season tickets.

Rams fans can watch 14 games for £160 next season with under-16s getting a season ticket free of charge.

But one player the Dewsbury Rams faithful won’t be seeing at the Tetley’s next year is Matty Wildie.

The half-back was unveiled as a Featherstone Rovers player on Tuesday, but the former Wakefield player thanked his team mates and coaching staff for a great 2015 season.

DEWSBURY RAMS 2016 CHAMPIONSHIP FIXTURES:

Sun, Feb 7 Swinton Lions (A) 3pm

Sun, Feb 14 Workington Town (H) 3pm

Sun, Feb 21 Oldham (A) 3pm

Sun, Feb 28 Whitehaven (H) 3pm

Sun, Mar 6 Featherstone Rovers (A) 3pm

Sat, Mar 12 London Broncos (A) 3pm

Fri, Mar 25 Batley Bulldogs (H) 3pm

Mon, Mar 28 Sheffield Eagles (A) TBC

Sun, Apr 3 Leigh Centurions (H) 3pm

Sun, Apr 10 Bradford Bulls (H) 3pm

Sun, Apr 24 Halifax (A) 3pm

Sun, May 1 Sheffield Eagles (H) 3pm

Sat, May 14 Whitehaven (A) 6.30pm

Sun, May 22 Featherstone Rovers (H) 3pm

Sun, May 29 Batley Bulldogs (Summer Bash) 12.45pm

Sun, Jun 5 Bradford Bulls (A) 3pm

Sun, Jun 12 Oldham (H) 3pm

Sun, Jun 19 Halifax (H) 3pm

Sun, Jun 26 Batley Bulldogs (A) 3pm

Sun, Jul 3 London Broncos (H) 3pm

Sun, Jul 10 Workington Town (A) 3pm

Sun, Jul 17 Swinton Lions (H) 3pm

Sun, Jul 24 Leigh Centurions (A) 3pm

Share this post