Fisher tighten grip on rivals in Premier Division

ST JOHN Fisher maintained their six-point lead at the top of the Heavy Woollen Sunday League Premier Division with a comprehensive 10-2 victory over Heckmondwike Sports Club.

A five-goal haul from Rikki Paylor, a Dominic Simpson brace plus strikes from Noel Whittaker, James Riordan and Irfane Khan won the match. Heckmondwike remain bottom despite a double from Adam Ford.

Woodkirk Valley lie second after winning 8-0 at home to Navigation.

Jonathan Mitchell hit six goals as Mirfield Town hammered a depleted Birstall Cricket Club 11-1.

Michael Rounding fired a hat-trick for Mirfield with Reece Drake and Chris Meeson also finding the net. Birstall’s consolation came from Kyle Walker.

AFC Chickenley recorded their first win of the season in emphatic style, winning 17-3 against Birkenshaw.

Shaun McDaid led the way with a magnificent seven goals, Ryan Simmonds and Tim Clarke both hit hat-tricks with Blake Dewhirst, David O’Keefe, Jack Hartley and Sean Housecroft completing Chickenley’s tally. Birkenshaw replied through Nathan Foster and Max Clough.

Mount Pleasant enjoyed a 7-4 win at Woodman Batley Carr thanks to a hat-trick from Faisal Adam, Nadeem Seedat (two), plus efforts from Adam Rawat and Abdullah Mayat. Woodman’s replies came from Alex Pickles (two), Elliot White and Tom Sidebottom.

Championship leaders Linthwaite recorded the day’s highest score winning 18-0 at home to St John Fisher Reserves.

Courtney Allette led the way with four goals, Rhys Wharam bagged a hat-trick, braces for Steve Richards and Iwan Heeley with Ben Green, Thomas White and Paul Day also on the scoresheet. Linthwaite’s tally was completed by three own goals.

Slip Inn Hounds moved to second place after they won 8-4 at The Yorkshireman. Sam Ansell Hit a hat-trick for Hounds, Connor Woodruff netted a double with Daniel Stocker and Carl Sykes also on target.

Brett McDonagh, Nathan Morgan and Callum Perrin all found the net as Wellington Westgate won 3-1 against third-placed Clifton Rangers.

Elliot Brooke put Overthorpe Sports Club ahead against Battyeford, but a Jamie Brannan double and a Joel Mason strike saw the points go to the Mirfield side.

Scholes Athletic lead Division One after winning 5-1 against previous pace-setters Old Bank WMC.

Jonny Irvine hit four goals for Scholes who also had David Blackburn on target. Robert Evans replied for Old Bank who drop to second.

Third-placed Roberttown Rovers slipped up after Kieran Corley hit four goals and Patrick Davies hit a brace as Saville Arms won 6-3.

Clifton Rangers won 6-1 at home to Birstall St Patrick’s who replied through Kieran Cooper.

St Ignatius climbed off the bottom of the table after Tim Crabb, Alex Spurr and Andrew King all netted in a 3-2 win over Ravenswharfe, who replied through a Sam Hewitt double.

Westgate 23 have gone top of Division Two after Connor Lyons, Josh Parker, Nathan Littlewood and Jack Clough all scored in a 4-0 win at Wike Horse.

Previous leaders Wire Works netted through a Craig Smith penalty, but two goals from Tom Hirst plus a Michael Hutton solo effort saw Overthorpe Sports Club Reserves win 3-1.

Dewsbury United won 8-2 against Clifton Rangers A thanks to a Jamie Beever hat-trick plus goals from Michael Thompson, Lewis Spivey, Luis Baptiste, Callum Davison and Tyrell Simpson.

Share this post