Clubs aiming for Headingley final

LAST year’s All Rounder Bradford Premier League champions Pudsey St Lawrence qualified for the Yorkshire Premier League’s play-off final staged in Abu Dhabi, losing to Wakefield Thornes, but while Hanging Heaton, Cleckheaton, Woodlands, East Bierley and Batley will all be striving for the Premier Division title this year there is no pot of gold waiting at the end of the rainbow.

In fact, dare I suggest, an actual rainbow is the more likely scenario.

The Bradford League champions will be playing their semi-final at Scarborough’s North Marine Road ground, against the Yorkshire Premier League (North) champions, on September 16, but the final will be much closer to home this season – at the famous Headingley ground the following week.

It may be woolly sweaters instead of short-sleeved t-shirts, but what league cricketer wouldn’t want to perform in an international arena?

The league season itself gets underway on April 22, with the first eight Priestley Cup ties going ahead in an unseeded Preliminary round on Sunday May 7.

This year’s Priestley Cup competition is open to the 24 teams comprising of the Premier League and Championship One, while those clubs in Championship Two and the Conference will compete in the Jack Hampshire Trophy, which gets underway with 10 first round ties on Sunday April 30.

As in more recent years the historic Heavy Woollen Cup will get underway with 15 first-round ties on the first Sunday of the season namely, April 23.

Priestley Cup: First round - Ossett v Methley, Bankfoot v Yeadon, Townville v Hanging Heaton, Bradford and Bingley v Woodlands, Wrenthorpe v Pudsey Congs, East Bierley v Lightcliffe, Cleckheaton v Pudsey St Lawrence, New Farnley v Baildon. Byes: Gomersal, Batley, Birstall, Scholes, Undercliffe, Morley, Farsley, Bowling Old Lane.

Jack Hampshire Trophy: First round - Altofts v Brighouse, Keighley v East Leeds, Liversedge v Rodley, Windhill v Azaad, East Ardsley v Hartshead Moor, Wakefield St Michaels v Hopton Mills, Idle v Carlton, Crossbank v Sandal, Oulton v Heckmondwike, Adwalton v Hunslet Nelson. byes: Brook Walton, Gildersome, Great Preston, Spen Victoria, Northowram Fields, Buttershaw St Pauls.

Share this post