Batley set sights on top-four finish

Batley set sights on top-four finish

Bulldogs assistant coach Danny Maun says that Batley have their sights firmly set on a top-four finish next year. 

The Bulldogs finished sixth in the 2017 Championship table, nine points behind fourth-placed Halifax. 

Maun is confident that the squad will be better equipped to mount a challenge for the Qualifiers but admits it won’t be easy due to other clubs having a much bigger budget.  

“We progressed really well towards the end of last season and the top four is always going to be a target for us now,” said Maun.

“We want to be the best part-time team in the competition and hopefully be able to get some results against the full-time sides next year as well.

“We will have a stronger squad next season as well as a more experienced squad. 

“It will be competitive when you look at the likes of Leigh and Toronto coming into the division.  

“You also have to look at London, Featherstone and Halifax who spent two or three times the amount of Batley last year.

“It is going to be a big challenge next year and finishing in that top four will be a huge achievement for us.”

Maun feels that on the pitch the players need to produce their best performances on a more consistent basis if they are to stand any chance next year.

He said: “We need to have the concentration levels for a full 80 minutes, there have been times when we had lapses in concentration and other teams have taken advantage of that.

“In this division you need to win all of your home games and obviously try to pick up as many wins away from home as possible.”

Meanwhile, the end-of-season awards ceremony was held on Wednesday night at a packed Howley Hall Golf Club.

Full-back Dave Scott was the big winner, scooping up three awards - coaches’ player of the year, supporters’ club player of the year, and Bulldogs forum player of the year.

The players’ player of the year award went to Dane Manning, with Tom Lillycrop picking up the man of steel accolade.

As well as winning the prestigious rear of the year, Wayne Reittie also retained the trophy for top try-scorer with 21 tries in 29 appearances.

Share this post