Tour cycling teams among world-best

ORGANISERS of the Tour de Yorkshire cycling event have announced the 36 teams competing this year. 

Riders will race through Cleckheaton, Gomersal, Birstall and Mirfield on April 30.

For the first time, the number of teams in the men’s and women’s races will be the same, with 10 of those taking part for the first time. A total of 49 teams applied for the 36 places.

Team Wiggins, founded by five-times Olympic champion Sir Bradley Wiggins to develop young British talent, was omitted. Organisers said the event was oversubscribed and “unfortunately someone had to miss out”.

The men’s race between April 28-30 includes nine teams who took part in the Tour de France.

The women’s race, on April 29, will feature a record number of teams, including 11 of the world’s top 14.

Top men’s teams, including BMC Racing Team, Orica-Scott, Team Dimension Data, Team Katusha Alpecin, Team Sky and Team Sunweb will be on the start line.

Welcome to Yorkshire chief executive Gary Verity said: “This is the largest field we have ever assembled and the quality of it reflects the high esteem in which our race is held.

“Having the very best teams in the business coming to Yorkshire is a massive coup, but it is also important to us that the British-based teams have the opportunity to pit themselves against the world’s finest riders.

“Teams know they will be guaranteed massive crowds.”

Share this post