Ten candidates to contest by-election

A NUMBER of parties have now declared their intention to stand in the upcoming Batley and Spen by-election. 

Voters will choose from 10 candidates when they go to the polls on October 20 to elect the late Jo Cox's successor.

Alongside Labour candidate Tracy Brabin, nine others from fringe parties or independents will contest the vacant seat.

Both the British National Party and National Front have announced they will stand alongside the already announced Liberty GB and English Democrats candidates.

The Conservatives, Lib Dems, UKIP and the Green Party all confirmed they would not be standing in the by-election as a mark of respect to Mrs Cox, who was killed in June.

The candidates are:

Corbyn Anti - By-election protest

Tracy Brabin - Labour Party

Jack Buckby - Liberty GB

Richard Charles Edmonds - National Front

David Furness - British National Party

Therese Hirst - English Democrats

Waqas Ali Khan - Independent 

Garry Mervyn Kitchin - Independent 

Ankit Love - One Love Party

Henry Edmund Burke Mayhew - Independent 

Share this post