Does this page look right? If not, chances are you are using an old browser. We highly recommend you upgrade to one of these newer browsers:

Mozilla FirefoxGoogle ChromeSafariInternet Explorer 8.0

Click on the icons above to upgrade to the browser of your choice.

Current Edition: | Wednesday 24th May 2017

Current Edition: | Wed 24th May 17

Latest News

Ten candidates fight for two local seats

Friday 19th May 2017

Main Article Ballot-box-generic

FOUR candidates will be seeking election for the Dewsbury, Mirfield, Denby Dale & Kirkburton seat on June 8.

Paula Sherriff won in the 2015 general election with a majority of 1,451 and will be looking to beat main rival Beth Prescott, who is standing for the Conservatives.

Also standing are Liberal Democrat Ednan Hussain and Simon Cope (Green Party).

Six election candidates will be contesting the seat for Batley & Spen.

Tracy Brabin (Labour) won the seat in a by-election last year, replacing the late Jo Cox, and will be seeking re-election.

Standing against her will be Ann Myatt (Conservative), John Lawson (Liberal Democrat), Alan Freeman (Green) and two independent candidates, Aleks Lukic and Mohammed Hanif.

Mrs Brabin won in 2016 with a majority of 16,500.

comments powered by Disqus